About Chaturdashi Shraddha or 4th Day Death Anniversary Ritual in Pitri Paksha in India

Chaturdashi Shraddha

Chaturdashi Shraddha could be performed for those souls who have departed on Chaturdashi Tithi. Deceased may be died in any Paksha or Lunar Fortnights i.e. Shukla Paksha (Bright Fortnight) or Krishna Paksha (Dark Fortnight).

Chaturdashi Shraddha is customarily, performed for those who were killed in accidental deaths. Shraddha is performed for those who persons who were murdered, killed with some weapon or committed suicide.

Shrddha, on this day is usually not performed. Shraddha of this day is postponed for Amavasya Shraddha . Chaturdashi Shraddha is also called as Ghat Chaturdashi Shraddha or Ghayala Chaturdashi Shraddha.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Chaturdashi Shraddha is also known as Chaudas Shraddha.

Pitri Paksha or Mahalaya Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is Kutup Muhurt and Rohina Muhurt. It could be performed till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over.

Tarpan (तर्पण) could be performed at the end of the Shraddha. Tarpana is performed with Til, water and other materials by offering to ancestors. Tarpana could be performed on any day but on Shraddha these are usually performed at the end.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Shradh dates in 2019

Date Day Shradh
13 September Friday Purnima Shraddha
14 September Saturday Pratipada Shraddha
15 September Sunday Dwitiya Shraddha
17 September Tuesday Tritiya Shraddha
18 September Wednesday Maha Bharani, Chaturthi Shraddha
19 September Thursday Panchami Shraddha
20 September Friday Shashthi Shraddha
21 September Saturday Saptami Shraddha
22 September Sunday Ashtami Shraddha
23 September Monday Navami Shraddha
24 September Tuesday Dashami Shraddha
25 September Wednesday Ekadashi Shraddha
26 September Thursday Magha Shraddha, Dwadashi Shraddha
27 September Friday Trayodashi Shraddha , Chaturdashi Shraddha
28 September Saturday Sarva Pitru Amavasya