About Chaturdashi Shraddha or 4th Day Death Anniversary Ritual in Pitri Paksha in India

Chaturdashi Shraddha

Chaturdashi Shraddha could be performed for those souls who have departed on Chaturdashi Tithi. Deceased may be died in any Paksha or Lunar Fortnights i.e. Shukla Paksha (Bright Fortnight) or Krishna Paksha (Dark Fortnight).

Chaturdashi Shraddha is customarily, performed for those who were killed in accidental deaths. Shraddha is performed for those who persons who were murdered, killed with some weapon or committed suicide.

Shrddha, on this day is usually not performed. Shraddha of this day is postponed for Amavasya Shraddha . Chaturdashi Shraddha is also called as Ghat Chaturdashi Shraddha or Ghayala Chaturdashi Shraddha.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Chaturdashi Shraddha is also known as Chaudas Shraddha.

Pitri Paksha or Mahalaya Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is Kutup Muhurt and Rohina Muhurt. It could be performed till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over.

Tarpan (तर्पण) could be performed at the end of the Shraddha. Tarpana is performed with Til, water and other materials by offering to ancestors. Tarpana could be performed on any day but on Shraddha these are usually performed at the end.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Shradh dates in 2020

Date Day Shradh
01 September Tuesday Purnima Shraddha
02 September Wednesday Pratipada Shraddha
03 September Thursday Dwitiya Shraddha
05 September Saturday Tritiya Shraddha
06 September Sunday Chaturthi Shraddha
07 September Monday Maha Bharani, Panchami Shraddha
08 September TuesdayShashthi Shraddha
09 September Wednesday Saptami Shraddha
10 September Thursday Ashtami Shraddha
11 September Friday Navami Shraddha
12 September Saturday Dashami Shraddha
13 September Sunday Ekadashi Shraddha
14 September Monday Dwadashi Shraddha
15 September Tuesday Magha Shraddha , Trayodashi Shraddha
16 September Wednesday Chaturdashi Shraddha
17 September Thursday Sarva Pitru Amavasya