About Amavasya Shraddha (Death Anniversary Ritual) in Pitri Paksha in Hindu Religion in India

Amavasya Shraddha

Amavasya Shraddha could be performed for those souls who have departed on Amavasya Tithi or Krishna Paksha (Dark Fortnight). If someone has not been able to perform last rituals on all these days then, Amavasya Shraddha is the last resort for performing such rites. Amavasya Shraddha is performed for all those who died on any unknown day or date. On this day people perform Shraddha for all their ancestors. So, Amavasya Shraddha is also known as Sarvapitra Moksha Amavasya.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Mahalaya Shraddha for those who died on Purnima Tithi is also done on Amavasya Shraddha Tithi and not on Bhadrapada Purnima. Although Bhadrapada Purnima Shraddha falls one day before Pitri Paksha but it is not part of Pitri Paksha. Usually Pitri Paksha starts on the next day of Bhadrapada Purnima Shraddha.

In West Bengal, Mahalaya Amavasya Shraddha is considered to be the beginning of Navaratri Festival. It is believed that Goddess Durga was descended on the Earth on this day.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Pitri Paksha or Mahalaya Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is Kutup Muhurt and Rohina Muhurt. It could be performed till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over.

Tarpan (तर्पण) could be performed at the end of the Shraddha. Tarpana is performed with Til, water and other materials by offering to ancestors. Tarpana could be performed on any day but on Shraddha these are usually performed at the end.

Read More : Varanasi 2D/3N Pind Daan Special

Shradh dates in 2019

Date Day Shradh
13 September Friday Purnima Shraddha
14 September Saturday Pratipada Shraddha
15 September Sunday Dwitiya Shraddha
17 September Tuesday Tritiya Shraddha
18 September Wednesday Maha Bharani, Chaturthi Shraddha
19 September Thursday Panchami Shraddha
20 September Friday Shashthi Shraddha
21 September Saturday Saptami Shraddha
22 September Sunday Ashtami Shraddha
23 September Monday Navami Shraddha
24 September Tuesday Dashami Shraddha
25 September Wednesday Ekadashi Shraddha
26 September Thursday Magha Shraddha, Dwadashi Shraddha
27 September Friday Trayodashi Shraddha , Chaturdashi Shraddha
28 September Saturday Sarva Pitru Amavasya