About Bharani Shraddha

Bharani Shraddha is performedin Pitri Paksha when Bharani Nakshatra starts in Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian)or Post Meridian.

Bharani Nakshatra comes either on Chaturthi or on Panchami Tithi of any Pitri Paksha or Mahalaya.

Bharani Shraddha which falls on Chaturthi Tithi is called Chauth Bharani. Bharani Shraddha which falls on Panchami Tithi is called Panchami Bharani . In some years, Bharani Chaturthi and Panchami both Tithi could fall on one day. In some years, Bharani Nakshatra might also prevail on Tritiya Tithi. Hence, Bharani Shraddha is not linked to any Tithi or any certain date.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Bharani Shraddha is known as Maha Bharani Shraddha. Nakshtra Bharani is more significant as it is the Day of Yama, Deity of Death in Hinduism.

It is believed that Bharani Shraddha have same benefits that could be get after performing rituals at Bodh Gaya,Bihar. Customarily, Bharani Nakshatra Shraddha is done once after the death of the person but according to Dharmasindhu it could also be done every year.

Pitri Paksha Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is either Kutup Muhurt and Rohina etc. Muhurt after that till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over. Tarpan (तर्पण) is done at the end of the Shraddha.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Shradh dates in 2019

Date Day Shradh
13 September Friday Purnima Shraddha
14 September Saturday Pratipada Shraddha
15 September Sunday Dwitiya Shraddha
17 September Tuesday Tritiya Shraddha
18 September Wednesday Maha Bharani, Chaturthi Shraddha
19 September Thursday Panchami Shraddha
20 September Friday Shashthi Shraddha
21 September Saturday Saptami Shraddha
22 September Sunday Ashtami Shraddha
23 September Monday Navami Shraddha
24 September Tuesday Dashami Shraddha
25 September Wednesday Ekadashi Shraddha
26 September Thursday Magha Shraddha, Dwadashi Shraddha
27 September Friday Trayodashi Shraddha , Chaturdashi Shraddha
28 September Saturday Sarva Pitru Amavasya