About Bharani Shraddha

Bharani Shraddha is performedin Pitri Paksha when Bharani Nakshatra starts in Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian)or Post Meridian.

Bharani Nakshatra comes either on Chaturthi or on Panchami Tithi of any Pitri Paksha or Mahalaya.

Bharani Shraddha which falls on Chaturthi Tithi is called Chauth Bharani. Bharani Shraddha which falls on Panchami Tithi is called Panchami Bharani . In some years, Bharani Chaturthi and Panchami both Tithi could fall on one day. In some years, Bharani Nakshatra might also prevail on Tritiya Tithi. Hence, Bharani Shraddha is not linked to any Tithi or any certain date.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Bharani Shraddha is known as Maha Bharani Shraddha. Nakshtra Bharani is more significant as it is the Day of Yama, Deity of Death in Hinduism.

It is believed that Bharani Shraddha have same benefits that could be get after performing rituals at Bodh Gaya,Bihar. Customarily, Bharani Nakshatra Shraddha is done once after the death of the person but according to Dharmasindhu it could also be done every year.

Pitri Paksha Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is either Kutup Muhurt and Rohina etc. Muhurt after that till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over. Tarpan (तर्पण) is done at the end of the Shraddha.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Shradh dates in 2020

Date Day Shradh
01 September Tuesday Purnima Shraddha
02 September Wednesday Pratipada Shraddha
03 September Thursday Dwitiya Shraddha
05 September Saturday Tritiya Shraddha
06 September Sunday Chaturthi Shraddha
07 September Monday Maha Bharani, Panchami Shraddha
08 September TuesdayShashthi Shraddha
09 September Wednesday Saptami Shraddha
10 September Thursday Ashtami Shraddha
11 September Friday Navami Shraddha
12 September Saturday Dashami Shraddha
13 September Sunday Ekadashi Shraddha
14 September Monday Dwadashi Shraddha
15 September Tuesday Magha Shraddha , Trayodashi Shraddha
16 September Wednesday Chaturdashi Shraddha
17 September Thursday Sarva Pitru Amavasya