About Dwadashi Shraddha (Death Anniversary Ritual on 2nd Day of Pitri Paksha) in Hinduism in India

Dwadashi Shraddha

Dwadashi Shraddha could be performed for those souls who have departed on Dwadashi Tithi. Deceased may be died in any Paksha or Lunar Fortnights i.e. Shukla Paksha (Bright Fortnight) or Krishna Paksha (Dark Fortnight).

Dwadashi Shraddha Tithi is most appropriate for performing Shraddha for those who had taken renunciation (संन्यास) before death.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Dwadashi Shraddha is also known as Baras Shraddha . Pitri Paksha or Mahalaya Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is Kutup Muhurt and Rohina Muhurt. It could be performed till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over.

Tarpan (तर्पण) could be performed at the end of the Shraddha.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Read More : Shradh , Pitru Paksh date for 2018 in Gayaji, Varanasi and Allahabad in India

Shradh dates in 2019

Date Day Shradh
13 September Friday Purnima Shraddha
14 September Saturday Pratipada Shraddha
15 September Sunday Dwitiya Shraddha
17 September Tuesday Tritiya Shraddha
18 September Wednesday Maha Bharani, Chaturthi Shraddha
19 September Thursday Panchami Shraddha
20 September Friday Shashthi Shraddha
21 September Saturday Saptami Shraddha
22 September Sunday Ashtami Shraddha
23 September Monday Navami Shraddha
24 September Tuesday Dashami Shraddha
25 September Wednesday Ekadashi Shraddha
26 September Thursday Magha Shraddha, Dwadashi Shraddha
27 September Friday Trayodashi Shraddha , Chaturdashi Shraddha
28 September Saturday Sarva Pitru Amavasya