Best Time for Magha Shraddha or Magha Death Anniversary Ritual in Pitri Paksha in India

Magha Shraddha

Magha Shraddha is performed in Pitri Paksha when Magha Nakshatra prevails during Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian). If Magha Nakshatra prevails partially during Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) on two days then the day when it prevails for longer duration is considered suitable for performing the rituals.

If both Magha Nakshatra and Trayodashi Tithi prevail during Aparahna on the same day then it is known as Magha Trayodashi Shraddha . It is generally the 13th day of Mahalaya or Pitri Paksha.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Nakshatra Magha is significant in Pitri Paksha because it is ruled by Pitris(पितृ), translates to fathers but also used for forefathers and great forefathers, the spirits of the departed ancestors.

Pitri Paksha or Mahalaya Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is Kutup Muhurt and Rohina Muhurt. It could be performed till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over.

Tarpan (तर्पण) could be performed at the end of the Shraddha . Tarpana is performed with Til, water and other materials by offering to ancestors. Tarpana could be performed on any day but on Shraddha these are usually performed at the end.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Shradh dates in 2021

Date Day Shradh
20 September Monday Purnima Shraddha
21 September Tuesday Pratipada Shraddha
22 September Wednesday Dwitiya Shraddha
23 September Thursaday Tritiya Shraddha
24 September Friday Maha Bharani , Chaturthi Shraddha
25 September Saturday Panchami Shraddha
26 September Sunday Shashthi Shraddha
28 September Tuesday Saptami Shraddha
29 September Wednesday Ashtami Shraddha
30 September Thursday Navami Shraddha
01 October Friday Dashami Shraddha
02 October Saturday Ekadashi Shraddha
03 October Sunday Magha Shraddha , Dwadashi Shraddha
04 October Monday Trayodashi Shraddha
05 October Tuesday Chaturdashi Shraddha
06 October Wednesday Sarva Pitru Amavasya