About Pratipada or Padwa Shradh-Death Anniversary Ritual for maternal grandparents in Pitri Paksha in India

Pratipada Shraddha

Pratipada Shraddha is also known as Padwa Shraddha.

Pratipada Shraddha is performed for those souls who had died on the Pratipada Tithi or Pratipada date of Hindu calendar. Deceased may have died in either fortnight i.e. Shukla Paksha or Krishna Paksha.

Pratipada Shraddha date is also ideal for those who wish to perform last rituals of their nana-nani or maternal grand- parents.

In Hindus, customarily Shraddha are performed by only sons not daughters but it is allowed for son of a daughter to perform last rites of his mother’s parents i.e. nana-nani.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

It is said that performing last rituals or Shraddha of maternal grand-parents gives peace to soul of deceased. Even if dates of demise of maternal grand-parents are not known people can perform it on this date. Thus, this date has great values in Hindu customary practices of performing last rites.

It is believed that performing last rites on this date brings joy to the family who perform this ritual.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Pitri Paksha Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is either Kutup Muhurt and Rohina Muhurt till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over. Tarpan (तर्पण) is done at the end of the Shraddha.

Shradh dates in 2020

Date Day Shradh
01 September Tuesday Purnima Shraddha
02 September Wednesday Pratipada Shraddha
03 September Thursday Dwitiya Shraddha
05 September Saturday Tritiya Shraddha
06 September Sunday Chaturthi Shraddha
07 September Monday Maha Bharani, Panchami Shraddha
08 September TuesdayShashthi Shraddha
09 September Wednesday Saptami Shraddha
10 September Thursday Ashtami Shraddha
11 September Friday Navami Shraddha
12 September Saturday Dashami Shraddha
13 September Sunday Ekadashi Shraddha
14 September Monday Dwadashi Shraddha
15 September Tuesday Magha Shraddha , Trayodashi Shraddha
16 September Wednesday Chaturdashi Shraddha
17 September Thursday Sarva Pitru Amavasya