About Pratipada or Padwa Shradh-Death Anniversary Ritual for maternal grandparents in Pitri Paksha in India

Pratipada Shraddha

Pratipada Shraddha is also known as Padwa Shraddha.

Pratipada Shraddha is performed for those souls who had died on the Pratipada Tithi or Pratipada date of Hindu calendar. Deceased may have died in either fortnight i.e. Shukla Paksha or Krishna Paksha.

Pratipada Shraddha date is also ideal for those who wish to perform last rituals of their nana-nani or maternal grand- parents.

In Hindus, customarily Shraddha are performed by only sons not daughters but it is allowed for son of a daughter to perform last rites of his mother’s parents i.e. nana-nani.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

It is said that performing last rituals or Shraddha of maternal grand-parents gives peace to soul of deceased. Even if dates of demise of maternal grand-parents are not known people can perform it on this date. Thus, this date has great values in Hindu customary practices of performing last rites.

It is believed that performing last rites on this date brings joy to the family who perform this ritual.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Pitri Paksha Shraddhas are Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform them is either Kutup Muhurt and Rohina Muhurt till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) gets over. Tarpan (तर्पण) is done at the end of the Shraddha.

Shradh dates in 2021

Date Day Shradh
20 September Monday Purnima Shraddha
21 September Tuesday Pratipada Shraddha
22 September Wednesday Dwitiya Shraddha
23 September Thursaday Tritiya Shraddha
24 September Friday Maha Bharani , Chaturthi Shraddha
25 September Saturday Panchami Shraddha
26 September Sunday Shashthi Shraddha
28 September Tuesday Saptami Shraddha
29 September Wednesday Ashtami Shraddha
30 September Thursday Navami Shraddha
01 October Friday Dashami Shraddha
02 October Saturday Ekadashi Shraddha
03 October Sunday Magha Shraddha , Dwadashi Shraddha
04 October Monday Trayodashi Shraddha
05 October Tuesday Chaturdashi Shraddha
06 October Wednesday Sarva Pitru Amavasya