Purnima Shraddha or Shraddhi Purnima-Death Anniversary Ritual in Hindu Religion in India

Shraddhi Purnima

Purnima Shraddha is also recognized as Shraddhi Purnima and Proshthapadi Purnima Shraddha (प्रोष्ठपदीपूर्णिमा).

It is accustomed that Shraddha for those who died on Purnima or Full Moon can be performed only on Amavasya Shraddha Date but can’t be performed on Bhadrapad Purnima. Though Bhadrapad Purnima Shraddha falls one day before Pitri Paksha it is not the part of Pitri Paksha.

Customarily, Pitri Paksha starts on the next day of Bhadrapada Purnima Shraddha.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Bhadrapada Purnima Shraddha, like Pitri Paksha Shraddhas, is Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform either Kutup Muhurt or Rohina Muhurt till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) (Post Meridian) gets over. People perform Tarpana at the end of the Shraddha.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Shradh dates in 2020

Date Day Shradh
01 September Tuesday Purnima Shraddha
02 September Wednesday Pratipada Shraddha
03 September Thursday Dwitiya Shraddha
05 September Saturday Tritiya Shraddha
06 September Sunday Chaturthi Shraddha
07 September Monday Maha Bharani, Panchami Shraddha
08 September TuesdayShashthi Shraddha
09 September Wednesday Saptami Shraddha
10 September Thursday Ashtami Shraddha
11 September Friday Navami Shraddha
12 September Saturday Dashami Shraddha
13 September Sunday Ekadashi Shraddha
14 September Monday Dwadashi Shraddha
15 September Tuesday Magha Shraddha , Trayodashi Shraddha
16 September Wednesday Chaturdashi Shraddha
17 September Thursday Sarva Pitru Amavasya