Purnima Shraddha or Shraddhi Purnima-Death Anniversary Ritual in Hindu Religion in India

Shraddhi Purnima

Purnima Shraddha is also recognized as Shraddhi Purnima and Proshthapadi Purnima Shraddha (प्रोष्ठपदीपूर्णिमा).

It is accustomed that Shraddha for those who died on Purnima or Full Moon can be performed only on Amavasya Shraddha Date but can’t be performed on Bhadrapad Purnima. Though Bhadrapad Purnima Shraddha falls one day before Pitri Paksha it is not the part of Pitri Paksha.

Customarily, Pitri Paksha starts on the next day of Bhadrapada Purnima Shraddha.

Read More : Cost of Pind Daan/ Asthi Visarjan/ Nagbali/ Narayan Bali/ Tripandi etc.

Bhadrapada Purnima Shraddha, like Pitri Paksha Shraddhas, is Parvan Shraddhas(पार्वणश्राद्ध) and auspicious time to perform either Kutup Muhurt or Rohina Muhurt till Aparahna Kala (Post Meridian) (Post Meridian) gets over. People perform Tarpana at the end of the Shraddha.

Read More : Pind Daan Packages

Shradh dates in 2021

Date Day Shradh
20 September Monday Purnima Shraddha
21 September Tuesday Pratipada Shraddha
22 September Wednesday Dwitiya Shraddha
23 September Thursaday Tritiya Shraddha
24 September Friday Maha Bharani , Chaturthi Shraddha
25 September Saturday Panchami Shraddha
26 September Sunday Shashthi Shraddha
28 September Tuesday Saptami Shraddha
29 September Wednesday Ashtami Shraddha
30 September Thursday Navami Shraddha
01 October Friday Dashami Shraddha
02 October Saturday Ekadashi Shraddha
03 October Sunday Magha Shraddha , Dwadashi Shraddha
04 October Monday Trayodashi Shraddha
05 October Tuesday Chaturdashi Shraddha
06 October Wednesday Sarva Pitru Amavasya